Workflow FAQ

When do I use a filter in workflows?

In workflows, filters are used to limit the population of a workflow. For example, an onboarding workflow would only apply to new customers. In this case, you would create a custom workflow where the customer license status equals new or customer since date is within the last 30 days. You can also run workflows against all accounts, in which case no filter is applied. For example, a workflow for the renewal process is applicable to all customers.

What are Triggers?

A Preact trigger is step one of a Preact Workflow and kicks off a series of action items to help create a repeatable process. 

What are the different types of Triggers?

  • Smart- A trigger that is activated when there is an increase or decrease in the Preact Health Score or Preact Activity Score. Learn more here
  • Time-based- A trigger that is activated when an amount of time is specified before or after a lifecycle event or license status change. Learn more here.
  • Event- A trigger that is activated when a customer performs a specific action in your application. Learn more here.
  • Manual- A trigger that is user-initiated / manually activated by a person. Learn more here

What are action items?

Preact action items are the tasks or notifications created after a trigger starts the workflow. 

What are the different types of action items?

  • Task- A Preact action item that allows you to assign duties to a specific user within Preact. Preact tasks are often listed under specific accounts. If so, tasks are synched in real-time with Salesforce. Learn more here
  • Alert- A Preact action item that sends messages in real-time to your internal chat tools. Preact alerts can also create proxy support tickets in your helpdesk solution. Learn more here
  • Email- A Preact action item that delivers messages in real-time to any user of Preact. Learn more here

What are sequential steps?

Once the previous action item is completed, for example a 3 day task is marked complete in Preact or an email has been sent to the customer success manager, you can add another step to the workflow. Choose to create another action item immediately after the previous step or set a number of days after the previous action item is complete. An example for leveraging sequential steps includes date based milestones at 30, 60 then 90 days after a new customer changes their license status from free to paid. 

How do I turn off a workflow?

Go to the workflow list (click on the settings icon > workflow) and select the workflow name you want to disable. In the workflow editor, scroll to the bottom of the page and deselect the Enabled? checkbox. Click Save. On the workflow list, toggle between Enabled and Disabled to see live vs. inactive workflows. 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk